Nominations Now Open for 2021 Innovations in Regulatory Science Awards

Deadline extended to June 11, 2021

The Innovations in Regulatory Science Awards celebrate outstanding leadership, breakthrough scientific research, and unwavering advocacy that not only informs regulatory science, but ultimately improves America’s public health.

Nominations for the 2021 Innovations in Regulatory Science Awards are now open. Recognize a deserving individual, group, or organization so they may be celebrated for their contributions to regulatory science and public health.

Award Categories
Innovations in Regulatory Science Awards

Nominations are reviewed by a committee of esteemed regulatory leaders, including past honorees. The Foundation annually presents awards in three categories encompassing the breadth of all FDA regulated products, foods, drugs, vaccines and other biological products and medical devices: 

Leadership: recognizes an individual’s significant contributions, national leadership, and service in the field of regulatory science and public health

Innovation: recognizes an individual, team, or organization that has improved public health through a specific innovation in regulatory issues or science

Advocacy/Policy: recognizes an individual, group, or organization for significant policy achievements that advance regulatory science and have a direct impact on the public

Nomination Process

Anyone can submit a nomination, and self-nomination is allowed. Foundation Board members and staff are not eligible for the awards.

To submit a nomination, please provide the following documents.

1. Nomination form

The nomination form includes instructions and full award criteria. Please complete in its entirety, specifying the award category and providing contact information for the nominee and the nominator.

2. Justification statement

A narrative (1000 words max.) that describes the nominee’s contributions, highlighting the achievements or activities that support criteria for the award.

3. Supporting document(s)

A professional and/or personal biography or a curriculum vitae of the individual nominee or a detailed backgrounder if nominating a group, project, or organization.

Submit the nomination package electronically by emailing or you may send the hard copy to:

Reagan-Udall Foundation for the FDA
1900 L Street NW, Ste 835
Washington, DC, 20036 

Nomination forms should be emailed to by 11:59 PM EST on Friday, June 11, 2021. Only complete nominations will be considered.


Leadership Awardees

2020 – Amy Abernethy, MD, PhD, Principal Deputy Commissioner, U.S. Food and Drug Administration

2019 – Theresa M. Mullin, PhD, Associate Director for Strategic Initiatives, FDA's Center for Drug Evaluation and Research

2018 – Richard Pazdur, MD, Director, FDA’s Oncology Center of Excellence

2017 – Janet Woodcock, MD, Center Director,  FDA Center for Drug Evaluation and Research

Innovation Awardees

2020 – Friends of Cancer Research

2019 – Compassionate Use Advisory Committee, Co-founded by Johnson & Johnson and New York University

2018 – Robert O’Neill, PhD, former Senior Statistical Adviser, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, and Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative

2017 – Patrick Ryan, PhD, Senior Director and Head of Epidemiology Analytics, Janssen Research and Development

Advocacy/Policy Awardee

2020 – The Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research

2019 – Cystic Fibrosis Foundation