Call for Nominations: Innovations in Regulatory Science Awards

Reagan-Udall Foundation for the Food and Drug Administration is seeking nominations through June 14, 2019, for its third annual Innovations in Regulatory Science Awards. These Awards honor outstanding achievements of individuals and organizations that have made distinguished contributions to regulatory science and policy.

Award Categories

The Awards will be presented in three categories this year. Full criteria is detailed in the nomination form (download below).

Leadership Award recognizes an individual’s significant contributions, national leadership, and service in the field of regulatory science and public health. 

Innovation Award is for an individual, team, or organization that has improved public health through a specific innovation in regulatory issues or science.

Advocacy/Policy Award, our new award category, is for an individual, group, or organization in recognition of significant policy achievements that advance regulatory science and have a direct impact on the public.

Nomination Process for 2019

Nomination deadline extended to June 14, 2019

Anyone can submit a nomination. Self-nomination is allowed. Foundation Board members and staff are not eligible to be nominated.

To submit a nomination, please provide the following documents.

1. Nomination form

The nomination form includes instructions and full award criteria. Please complete in its entirety, specifying the award category and providing contact information for the nominee and the nominator.

2. Justification statement

A 1,000-word narrative that describes the nominee’s contributions, highlighting the achievements or activities that support criteria for the award.

3. Supporting document(s)

A professional and/or personal biography or a curriculum vitae  of the nominee.

Submit the nomination package electronically by emailing or you may send the hard copy to:

Executive Assistant to Executive Director
Reagan-Udall Foundation for the FDA
1900 L Street NW, Ste 835
Washington, D.C., 20036 

Past Recipients

Leadership Awardees

2018 - Richard Pazdur, MD, Director of the FDA’s Oncology Center of Excellence

2017 - Janet Woodcock, MD, Director of the FDA Center for Drug Evaluation and Research

Innovation Awardees

2018 - Robert O’Neill, PhD, former Senior Statistical Adviser, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research

2018 - Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative

2017 - Patrick Ryan, PhD, Senior Director and Head of Epidemiology Analytics at Janssen Research and Development

About the Reagan-Udall Foundation for the FDA

The Reagan-Udall Foundation for the FDA (FDA Foundation) is an independent 501(c)(3) created by Congress to advance regulatory science to help the U.S. Food and Drug Administration accomplish its mission. The FDA Foundation works to improve health and safety through stakeholder engagement and public-private partnerships that facilitate innovation, foster the use of real-world evidence, and identify modern tools and policies to keep pace with today’s rapidly evolving science.

Media Contacts:

Lea Ann Browning-McNee
301-509-1846 (cell)  

Mary McNamara
202-276-7822 (cell)