Reagan-Udall Foundation for the FDA Announces Two New Board Members

(June 3, 2021) The Reagan-Udall Foundation for the Food and Drug Administration (FDA Foundation) is expanding its leadership with the addition of two new Board members: Christie Boutte, PharmD, RPh, Senior Vice President of Reimbursement, Innovation, and Advocacy for the National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) and Phil Febbo, MD, Chief Medical Officer for Illumina. 

Dr. Christie Boutte currently oversees the strategic direction and overall management of NACDS’ reimbursement portfolio as well as management of state strategic affairs and advocacy efforts across all states and the District of Columbia. Prior to joining the association, she served as a clinical program manager for CIGNA HealthCare. She has also held the positions of project officer and government task leader for the Office of Clinical Standards and Quality within the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), and analyst for the CMS Center for Medicaid and State Operations. She has been a practicing pharmacist, earning her doctor of pharmacy degree from Xavier University of Louisiana, College of Pharmacy. 

Dr. Phil Febbo is charged with developing and executing Illumina’s medical strategy to accelerate genomic testing into healthcare practice. He has a successful track record of translational research, clinical excellence, and embedding molecular insights into clinical care. Before his current role, he was chief medical officer for Genomic Health and a professor of medicine and urology at the University of California, San Francisco. Dr. Febbo previously worked at Duke University Medical Center’s Institute of Genome Sciences and Policy. He completed his internal medicine residency at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital, and his fellowship in oncology at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. 

“We are pleased to welcome Dr. Boutte and Dr. Febbo to the Board of Directors,” said Ellen V. Sigal, PhD, Chair of the FDA Foundation’s Board of Directors. “We look forward to working with such accomplished and dedicated colleagues in support of FDA’s mission to advance innovation and modernize regulatory  science.” 

Dr. Boutte and Dr. Febbo join the FDA Foundation Board comprised of exceptional leaders from academia, consumer health/safety, medical product and food industries, healthcare, and other disciplines: 

Board Chair Ellen V. Sigal, PhD, Friends of Cancer Research

Vice Chair Richard L. Schilsky, MD, University of Chicago

Secretary and Treasurer Kay Holcombe, MS

Edward John Allera, Buchanan, Ingersoll, & Rooney PC

Georges C. Benjamin, MD, MACP, FNAPA, FACEP (E), Hon FRSPH, American Public Health Association

Allan Coukell, BScPharm, Civica

Helen Darling, MA, Strategic Advisor on Health Benefits and Health Care

Molly Fogarty, Nestlé

Sally J. Greenberg, JD, National Consumers League

Adrian F. Hernandez, MD, MHS, Duke University of Medicine

Jonathan Leff, Deerfield Management

Garry Neil, MD, Cerecor, Inc.

Andrew von Eschenbach, MD, Samaritan Health Initiatives

Lynne Zydowsky, PhD, Zydowsky Consultants, LLC


Senior Advisor to the Board

Mark McClellan, MD, PhD, Robert J. Margolis Center for Health Policy, Duke University


Janet Woodcock, MD, Food and Drug Administration

Francis S. Collins, MD, PhD, National Institutes of Health

About the Reagan-Udall Foundation for the FDA

The Reagan-Udall Foundation for the FDA (FDA Foundation) is an independent 501(c)(3) created by Congress to advance regulatory science to help the U.S. Food and Drug Administration accomplish its mission. The FDA Foundation works to improve health and safety through stakeholder engagement and public-private partnerships that facilitate innovation, foster the use of real-world evidence, and identify modern tools and policies to keep pace with today’s rapidly evolving science.

Media Contacts:

Lea Ann Browning-McNee
301-509-1846 (cell)  

Mary McNamara
202-276-7822 (cell)