Norman Sharpless

Norman "Ned" Sharpless, MD
Acting Commissioner of Food and Drugs

Amy Abernathy

Amy Abernethy, MD, PhD
Principal Deputy Commissioner 

Annual Public Meeting Set for May 2, 2019

Each year, the Foundation conducts an annual meeting, open to the public, to share its activities in support of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. The 2019 Annual Public Meeting, featuring FDA's new leadership and select Center Directors, will be held from 10 a.m. until noon on May 2, 2019, at the following location:

PEW Charitable Trust

901 E Street, NW

Washington, DC 20004

Dr. Norman "Ned" Sharpless, Acting Commissioner of Food and Drugs, and Dr. Amy Abernethy, FDA's Principal Deputy Commissioner, will bookend the event to discuss agency priorities and the role public-private partnerships can play in helping the FDA protect public health and safety.

Center Directors including Drs. Janet Woodcock, Peter Marks, Susan Mayne, and Jeffrey Shuren will sit down with moderator Michael McCaughan, Co-Founder of Prevision Policy and former Editor-in-Chief of Pink Sheet, for an in-depth conversation about cross-Center activities and how public-private partnerships can help address the most pressing priorities. The meeting will conclude with brief public comments.*

The Annual Public Meeting is free and open to the public.

*Public comments are strictly limited to three minutes per speaker. Comments should be submitted to Kelly Catterton via email at by 5 pm on April 30, 2019, and should include your name, address, telephone number, and email address. You will be notified about your request to speak by May 1, 2019.

Past Annual Public Meetings