The fifth annual Innovations in Regulatory Science Awards presented by the Reagan-Udall Foundation for the FDA will be held Tuesday, December 14, 2021

Save the Date: Tuesday, December 14, 2021

The Innovations in Regulatory Science Awards celebrate outstanding leadership, breakthrough scientific research, and unwavering advocacy that not only informs regulatory science, but ultimately improves America’s public health.

These awards recognize a deserving individual, group, or organization so they may be celebrated for their contributions to regulatory science and public health.

Award Categories
Innovations in Regulatory Science Awards

Nominations are reviewed by a committee of esteemed regulatory leaders, including past honorees. The Foundation annually presents awards in three categories encompassing the breadth of all FDA regulated products, foods, drugs, vaccines and other biological products and medical devices: 

Leadership: recognizes an individual’s significant contributions, national leadership, and service in the field of regulatory science and public health

Innovation: recognizes an individual, team, or organization that has improved public health through a specific innovation in regulatory issues or science

Advocacy/Policy: recognizes an individual, group, or organization for significant policy achievements that advance regulatory science and have a direct impact on the public


Leadership Awardees

2020 – Amy Abernethy, MD, PhD, Principal Deputy Commissioner, U.S. Food and Drug Administration

2019 – Theresa M. Mullin, PhD, Associate Director for Strategic Initiatives, FDA's Center for Drug Evaluation and Research

2018 – Richard Pazdur, MD, Director, FDA’s Oncology Center of Excellence

2017 – Janet Woodcock, MD, Center Director,  FDA Center for Drug Evaluation and Research

Innovation Awardees

2020 – Friends of Cancer Research

2019 – Compassionate Use Advisory Committee, Co-founded by Johnson & Johnson and New York University

2018 – Robert O’Neill, PhD, former Senior Statistical Adviser, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, and Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative

2017 – Patrick Ryan, PhD, Senior Director and Head of Epidemiology Analytics, Janssen Research and Development

Advocacy/Policy Awardee

2020 – The Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research

2019 – Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

Presenting Sponsor

Transformation Sponsors