2023 Innovations in Regulatory Science Awards

Celebrating outstanding achievement in regulatory science


Join the Reagan-Udall Foundation for the FDA as we bring the regulatory science community together to recognize the leadership, scientific breakthroughs, and unwavering advocacy that helps safeguard America’s public health. 


The Awards will be presented in three categories:

Leadership Award recognizes an individual’s significant contributions, national leadership,  and service in the field of regulatory science and public health. 

Innovation Award honors an individual, team, or organization that has improved public health through a specific innovation in regulatory issues or science.

Advocacy/Policy Award lauds an individual, group, or organization in recognition of significant policy achievements that advance regulatory science and have a direct impact on the public. 

Save the Date!

This year's awards will be presented at a celebration on December 5 at the Willard InterContinental Hotel. 

Willard InterContinental



Leadership Awardees

2022  – Robert Temple, MD, Senior Advisor for Clinical Science, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

2021 – Peter Marks, MD, PhD, Director, Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

2020 – Amy Abernethy, MD, PhD, Principal Deputy Commissioner, FDA

2019 – Theresa M. Mullin, PhD, Associate Director for Strategic Initiatives, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, FDA

2018 – Richard Pazdur, MD, Director, Oncology Center of Excellence, FDA

2017 – Janet Woodcock, MD, Center Director,  Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, FDA

Innovation Awardees

2022 – Medidata Link

2021 – COVID-19 Research Database

2020 – Friends of Cancer Research

2019 – Compassionate Use Advisory Committee, Co-founded by Johnson & Johnson and New York University

2018 – Robert O’Neill, PhD, former Senior Statistical Adviser, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, and Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative

2017 – Patrick Ryan, PhD, Senior Director and Head of Epidemiology Analytics, Janssen Research and Development

Advocacy/Policy Awardee

2022 – George Vradenburg, UsAgainstAlzheimer's

2021 – Patrick J. Kennedy, The Kennedy Forum

2020 – The Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research

2019 – Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

2023 Presenting Sponsor

Past Awards Dinner Highlights